Hello World

Hello and welcome to my blog!

My name is Kerry and I am a particle physicist! I am a PhD student working on the ATLAS experiment at CERN and have recently submitted my thesis!

Whilst ‘writing up’ my postgraduate research and writing CVs and application forms, I have spent a lot of time reflecting on my experience as a PhD student; skills I have developed, what I have achieved and how I can improve as a research scientist. I have set up this blog to document some of the notable ideas and resources I have found, both as a reference for myself and also in the hope that others may find it useful too, particularly when writing academic papers or theses.

There are an overwhelming number of resources and tools which can be used as a postgraduate researcher (and beyond), some of which I have only become aware of recently and am interested to learn more. There are also many particle physics specific tools and software which I aim to list and summarise!

This is the current plan for my blog but some of my interests may find their own posts, as well as my research, travel and outreach events I attend – which I will tag and categorise.

This blog is very new and I am new to blogging so, please bear with me as I find my feet, and please do say hi!

Leave a Reply

